Chromebook Review

So, I recently acquired a chromebook; more specifically a “Samsung Chromebook 3”. I’m surprised it took me so long to purchase one given how affordable they are. But the fact that I’m currently on vacation motivated me to go out and buy one. And to be completely honest the chromebook’s operating system, Chrome OS, is pretty decent nowadays. You can install a linux console and run some Linux applications from the console. Now, I’m aware I purchased a much more lower-end chromebook. But, that doesn’t matter given what I will be talking about with this article. I will be primarily be talking about software because from what I’ve seen, most chromebooks are nearly identical; apart from the Pixel Book and Samsung Chromebook Pro.

Now overall, Chrome OS is a very responsive operating system, which isn’t surprising given the fact that the operating system is Linux based and is basically required to have an internet connection constantly. The chromebook runs very few programs and the ones it can run are all on the google play store. Which in fact is pre-installed to most chromebooks from what I’ve seen; including mine. And honestly there are about 3 whole applications that I’ve found on the Play Store that have scaled properly to the display resolution of the Chromebook. Unsurprisingly, most of the apps I’ve found on the Play Store that do scale properly are media apps; apart from discord.

I won’t knock the chromebook too hard for the app selection, however, because when these things were first designed, they were designed to only run google chrome, not any actual downloadable applications. But for what it’s designed to do, which is run websites, it accomplishes its job very well. Although, that’s not saying much because you can run websites off of your cell phone nowadays.

Overall, the chromebook is good if you’re on the go and just need to do some web browsing. You can create documents, you can watch videos, you can read the news. Basically every day to day task is possible on a chromebook. The only downside in my opinion is the fact that for the most part, you need a pretty constant internet connection.

Leave a comment